Village of Orland Park Garden Contest

Village of Orland Park Garden Contest
Posted on 08/18/2011

The Village of Orland Park is pleased to announce the winners of the thirteenth annual Garden Contest. The contest is open to amateur gardeners who are residents of detached, single-family homes in Orland Park.

Donna Throw will receive the First Place Award for her garden. Throw's cottage-like yard is well maintained and bursting with colorful plants and flowers. She has well placed lawn ornaments, a small pond and bird feeder.

Patricia Janda's garden has been chosen to receive the Second Place Award. This beautiful yard has flower beds within flower beds, is perfectly maintained and has a lot of plant variety and color.

The Third Place Award will be presented to Ron Karlic and Dale Barz. Their yard boasts a huge pond, hundreds of varieties of hostas, and many different and interesting areas within the property.

An Honorable Mention award will be presented to Susan Hankosky for "Best Water Feature." Hankosky's yard features an in-ground pool, a beautifully built stone pond with fish, running water, with flowers and plants in and around the pond and yard.

Village Trustee Brad O'Halloran initiated the Garden Contest in 1999 to recognize Orland Park residents for their work in beautifying and maintaining their property. Trustee O'Halloran stated, "There are so many outstanding gardens in Orland Park planted and maintained by our residents. We're proud to recognize these gardeners for the beautiful and talented work they have done on their property." I encourage more residents to enter the contest each year," he added.

Gardens were judged on overall appearance and maintenance, use of color, texture and native plants, variety and combination of plants and flowers, suitability of plants and landscaping and special or unique features. Judges included Master Gardeners Judith Jacobs and Sharon Quinlan, and gardener Michelle McGrath.

Awards will be presented to the winners at the Village of Orland Park Board of Trustees meeting at 7 pm on Tuesday, September 6, 2011.