Orland Park Mayor Dan McLaughlin Elected Chair of Metropolitan Mayors Caucus

Orland Park Mayor Dan McLaughlin Elected Chair of Metropolitan Mayors Caucus
Posted on 11/14/2014

Orland Park Mayor Dan McLaughlin was elected executive board chairman of the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus on November 10, having previously served as the group’s secretary.

Created in 1997 by then Chicago Mayor Richard M. Daley, the group offers a forum for top elected officials to collaborate on common problems and work together for the benefit of the millions of residents of the area.

“The Metropolitan Mayors Caucus is a great cooperative effort among Chicago area municipalities,” McLaughlin said. “And, while each of the member towns has its own issues to address, we come together as a group to look at what affects the entire area from a regional perspective,” he said.

Palos Hills Mayor Jerry Bennett, a past caucus chair and current president of the Southwest Conference of Mayors, is pleased with McLaughlin’s election.

“We are very happy that Mayor McLaughlin was elected chair, both to have representation from the southwest suburbs and because he looks at things from a regional perspective,” Bennett said.

“It’s going to be a very exciting year for the caucus and we are thrilled to have two southwest suburban mayors serving on the executive board --- Orland Park’s Mayor McLaughlin as chair and Frankfort Mayor Jim Holland, representing the Will County Governmental League, serving as secretary,” Bennett said.

It is estimated that over the next 15 years, the region’s population will grow to 11 million. According to the Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning’s Go To 2040 Plan, “The Metropolitan Chicago area is poised to prosper in an increasingly interconnected world. Our region is among the nation’s few global economic centers, and assets include our diverse mix of industries, our vast physical infrastructure and open space, our preeminent educational, cultural, and arts institutions, and our network of unique, identifiable communities.”

Municipal organizations that participate in the caucus include the City of Chicago and nine partner suburban municipal groups including the DuPage Mayors and Managers Conference, Lake County Municipal League, McHenry County Council of Governments, Metro West Council of Governments, Northwest Municipal Conference, South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association, Southwest Conference of Mayors, West Central Municipal Conference and the Will County Governmental League. Member municipalities of each of these organizations are also considered members of the caucus.

On its website, the caucus reports that it has worked cooperatively with the City of Chicago, the Suburban Councils of Governments and the Illinois Municipal League over the past few years to oppose the state’s attempts to take from local revenue sources. The group vows to continue its coordinated efforts to protect and defend all municipal revenues.

“There are many issues affecting communities across the country and the Metropolitan Mayors Caucus is a vibrant, regional collaboration that comes together to share ideas, keep leaders current on what’s happening in the state and work together to serve our citizens,” McLaughlin said, adding, “I’m honored to serve as the group’s chair.”